skip navigation

Gitch Players are Mr & Ms Soccer nominees, earn All State and All Conference Honors and compete at the State Tournament

By Corey Bulheller, 11/22/23, 4:15PM CST


This high school season, we saw several Gitch players in action. We had more nominees for Mr and Ms Soccer. We had three teams head to the state tournament and 39 players across these three teams. There were 7 Gitch players making all-state teams. We also had 27 players earn all-conference honors.


The Mr Soccer nominee for this year was Elijah Aultman from Cloquet High School. The Ms. Soccer nominee was Gwen Lilly from Esko High School. 


The three schools to make state were Cloquet Boys, Esko Girls, and Duluth Marshall Boys. 


Duluth Marshall Boys head coach, Mike Sengbush said "Every level of our team is chop full of Gitch players. From our GK, Thomas, to our spearheads in Denzel and Briar, we have a massive presence all over the field of Gitch players."


"The level of play our Gitch players have helped our "non-Gitch" players. The standard to which our Gitch players have learned from club play has undoubtedly led to this team's success.


We are a possession-based team but do have some explosiveness to counter quickly against our opponents. This type of play, in my opinion, is how the club instructs our coaches and players in style of play. It provides a relatively seamless transition from club to high school from a player and coaching standpoint."


Across these three teams we had 39 Gitch players playing on the Cloquet Boys, Esko Girls, and Marshall Boys teams.


The seven players that made All-State teams are Denzel Majwega, Elijah Aultman, Briar Mrozik, Will Smith, Alyssa Doyle, Nina Thorson, and Gwen Lilly.


The players that earned All-Conference honors are Alyssa Doyle, Nina Thorson, Nataleh Rapp, Aubrey Johnson, Ellie Marciniak, Cayley Larsen, Eden Giswold, Mariah Herdsman, Lauren Madill, Camryn Seguin, Adell Wormuth, Cambriia Thomas, Elijah Aultman, Denzel Majwega, Braden Herman, Spencer Kidd, Nathan Hill, Matt Eklund, Briar Mrozik, Walker Marquadt, Eli Benson, Foster Schultz, William Foldesi, Bowen Linville, Keegan Madrinich, Bruce Coleman, and Caden Holden.